Centres     Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Chair  
  About Chair
  Teaching Faculty

Mahaparinirvan Day
On 06th December 2016, SNDT Women’s University has pay reverence to Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar on his 61 Death Anniversary (Mahaparinirvan Din) at Committee Room of the University at 11.00 a.m.

Hon’ble Madam Vice-Chancellor Dr. Shashikala Wanjari, SNDT Women’s University, Mumbai Chair the function.

On the occasion, various speakers have shared their views on Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar’s to the Contribution. Few of them are as below :-

1. Dr. B. B. Pradhan, Principal, SNDT Arts & SCB College of Commerce & Science, Mumbai :

2. Prof. Vibhuti Patel, Head of the Department, Department of Economics, Mumbai.

3. Dr. Meena Kute, Principal, PVDT College of Education, Mumbai

4. Dr. Siddharth Ghatvisave, Assistant Professor, P.V.D.T. College of Education, Mumbai.

5. Mr. Archana Meshram, SNDT Junior College.

6. Prof. Kisan S. Ingole, Professor, Dr. Ambedkar Chair, Mumbai

The program was co-ordinated by Dr. Chaitra Redkar, Assistant Professor and Head of the Department Political Science, Mumbai.

Prof. Ingole, Professor, Dr. Ambedkar Chair, SNDT Women’s Univesity, Mumbai speaks on various issues related to Dr. Ambedkar’s role for the Development of Modern India. He also elaborated Dr. Ambekar’s contribution to Fiscal Policy, Central – State Financial Relations, Taxation and Public Expenditure Policy and also Monitory Policy which lead to the formation of Reserve Bank of India. He also said that Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar fundamentally contribution for the preparation of water and navigation policy, electricity generation policy and labor laws and welfare polices as Labour Minister during the period of 1942 to 1946. He also talks on Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar’s view on women empowerment.

Madam Vice-chancellor speaks on Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar’s Contribution for the Overall Development of Nation and His Commitment to the Cause. Madam also says that, how Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar visualized the Women Welfare Policies in India.

Lastly Dr. Chaitra Redkar proposed the vote of thanks.

This programme was greatly successful and was attended by the Teaching, Non-Teaching and students of the University.